Types of courts in Pakistan | courts structure

There are two types of Courts in Pakistan the superior (or higher) courts and subordinate (or lower) courts. The superior courts are composed of the Supreme court of Pakistan, the Federal Shariat Court, and the Five High Court. There is a high court for a Province as well as the High Court for the Islamabad capital. Types of courts in Pakistan are discussed briefly. For other detail visit Lawguide.pk.

To Become a Judge In Pakistan a complete procedure

Superior Courts

Superior Court of Pakistan

In 1956 supreme courts were established. It is the highest type of court in Pakistan. Supreme court consist of a Chief justice and sixteen other judges. Supreme court permanent seats are in Islamabad and other branches of the supreme court are in Lahore, Karachi, Peshawar, and Quetta. The Chief justice of Pakistan has the power of the SUO moto to try the human rights matter. Supreme Judicial Council supervised Supreme court Judges.

Federal Shariat court

Federal Shariat Court was established in 1980 to view all Laws of Pakistan to confirm that any Law of Pakistan can not be against the Quran and Sunnah. If any Law is found against the Quran and Sunnah then the government specifies the reason for its decision. The decision of the courts is binding on higher courts.

The Federal Shariat Court in Pakistan consists of eight Muslim judges appointed by the president of Pakistan. These judges’ services are for three years as their extensions are given by the president of Pakistan.

High Courts of Pakistan

There are five high courts in Pakistan one for the capital of Islamabad in Pakistan and four other provinces for Courts in Pakistan. All the high courts have their other high court benches in the province.  A high court is the principal court of the province and the largest court of the Province.

Lahore High Court, Lahore, Punjab

Sindh High Court, Karachi, Sindh

Kpk High Court, Peshawar, kPK

Balochistan High Court, Quetta, Balochistan

Islamabad High Court, Islamabad, ICT

Subordinate Courts of Pakistan

Family courts

Family Courts are specially for family matters. The Family courts Resolve the issues of the families such as adoption, taking of the children into care and residence of children and child protection, etc such types of cases are handled by the family courts.

District courts

Every province has a district court and has criminal and civil jurisdiction governed by CPC 1908 and Crpc for criminal cases. District and secession Judges is the Administrative Head of the district judiciary.

The province high courts’ decisions are applicable and binding on the province’s Lower courts.

civil judge cum judicial magistrates courts

Civil magistrate courts are present in every city. Judicial magistrates can award all punishment except capital punishment under section 30 Code of Criminal Procedure.

Special Tribunals Court in Pakistan

Foreign  Exchange Appellate Board

consumer courts

Intellectual Property Tribunal

Control of narcotic substance (Special Court)

Boars of Revenue

Special Magistrate Courts

Environment Courts

Labour Appellate Tribunal

Labour Courts

Anti-Terrorism Courts

Anti-Corruption Courts

Income tax Tribunals

Provincial service Tribunals (one for a Province)

Federal service Tribunals

Drugs Courts

Criminal Courts

Custom Courts

Banking Courts

juvenile court

Juvenile justice system act 2018 was passed by the parliament. this law is applicable to all of Pakistan. Provincial Government by section 4 of the just authorized to establish one or more juveniles for local areas in the chief Justice high court consultation.

Leave a Comment